Sinclair to lead Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team in Tokyo 2020 Olympics

0
122

The Soccer Canada announced Wenesday that the two-time Olympic bronze medallist and Captain Christine Sinclair will lead the Canada Soccer’s National Women’s team in Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games. (Photo – Soccer Canada)

18 athletes will represent Canada in the Women’s Olympic Football Tournament Tokyo 2020, from 21 July to 6 August.“It is always an honour to represent Canada at the Olympic Games and I am excited to be returning to my fourth Olympic Games,” said Captain Christine Sinclair. “The Olympic Games have played an important part in the history of Canada Soccer’s Women’s National Team, and I am looking forward to do whatever I can to help take this team back to the podium and make history again. Our team is in good spot, we are excited, we are hungry, and we are ready to go.”

Canada will face Japan in the opening match in Sapporo on 21 July at 19.30 local (06.30 ET / 03.30 PT), the Soccer Canada said in a statement.The statement further added that Canada will next face Chile on 24 July at 16.30 local (03.30 ET / 00.30 PT), before wrapping up the group stage against Great Britain in Kashima on 27 July at 20.00 local (07.00 ET / 04.00 PT).

From 12 nations in three groups, the top-eight nations advance to the Olympic Quarterfinals with the top two from each of the groups joined by the top two third place finishers, the Canada Soccer added. The Quarterfinal winners will advance to the Semifinals with the winners playing in the Gold Medal Final at Tokyo’s Olympic Stadium and the other two Semi finalists playing for the Bronze Medal.

CANADA ROSTER

GK- Stephanie Labbé | SWE / FC Rosengård
GK- Kailen Sheridan | USA / NJ/NY Gotham FC
CB- Kadeisha Buchanan | FRA / FCF Olympique Lyonnais
CB- Vanessa Gilles | FRA / FC Girondins de Bordeaux
CB- Shelina Zadorsky | ENG / Tottenham Hotspur
FB- Allysha Chapman | USA / Houston Dash
FB- Ashley Lawrence | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain
FB- Jayde Riviere | USA / University of Michigan
M- Jessie Fleming | ENG / Chelsea FC
M- Julia Grosso | CAN / University of Texas at Austin
M- Quinn | USA / OL Reign
M- Desiree Scott | USA / Kansas City NWSL
F- Janine Beckie | ENG / Manchester City FC
F- Adriana Leon | ENG / West Ham United FC
F- Nichelle Prince | USA / Houston Dash
F- Deanne Rose | USA / University of Florida
F- Christine Sinclair | USA / Portland Thorns FC
F- Evelyne Viens | USA / NJ/NY Gotham FC

ALTERNATES
GK- Erin McLeod | USA / Orlando Pride
FB- Gabrielle Carle | USA / Florida State University
M- Sophie Schmidt | USA / Houston Dash
F- Jordyn Huitema | FRA / Paris Saint-Germain

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here