2021 Canadian Premier League season to begin in Winnipeg tomorrow

0
50

The 2021 season of the Canadian Premier League is officially set to begin tomorrow, June 26, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

The Canadian Premier League announced earlier this month that all eight clubs will convene in Winnipeg to open the campaign at a single site.

A total of 32 games will be played from June 26 to July 24th, with  each CPL team playing eight matches in total at Winnipeg’s IG Field, the home of Valour FC.

“The health and safety of all Manitobans is our first priority, and public health has been working alongside the Canadian Premier League and the Valour Football Club to bring this event to Winnipeg in a safe manner and within the current public health orders,” Dr. Brent Roussin, Manitoba’s Chief Provincial Public Health Officer, was quoted as saying in a news release by CPL.

Each of the CPL’s eight clubs will open their season on the weekend of June 26, with FC Edmonton and Atlético Ottawa getting things started on Saturday at 2 pm ET (1 pm CT).

They will be followed that evening by Pacific FC versus HFX Wanderers FC (5 pm ET/4 pm CT), and Sunday’s slate will feature Forge FC versus Valour FC (2 pm ET/1 pm CT) and Cavalry FC versus York United FC (5 pm ET/4 pm CT).

Advertisement

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here